2018 Back To School

Welcome Back!  

Please check out the following information for 2018:

School Safety is a Priority:  Check the Back to School Newsletter to learn what's new for the 2018-19 school year.

Education Levy Vote November 6: The current voter-approved education levy expires this year.  It provides support for managing class size, supporting student achievement and curriculum updates. Voters will be asked to consider renewing and possibly increasing the levy to support education in Duluth.  Detailed information will be shared through September and October.  Every vote is important.  Learn About the Education Levy

Educational Equity:  Following months of community input and creation of an Education Equity Framework, we’re developing an implementation and accountability plan.   

New School Websites, New Web Addresses 
School website addresses have changed, please update your bookmarks:

Congdon Park Elementary - www.isd709.org/congdon-elementary
Homecroft Elementary - www.isd709.org/homecroft-elementary
Lakewood Elementary - www.isd709.org/lakewood-elementary
Laura MacArthur Elementary - www.isd709.org/laura-macarthur
Lester Park Elementary - www.isd709.org/lester-park-elementary
Lowell Elementary - www.isd709.org/lowell-elementary
Myers-Wilkins Elementary - www.isd709.org/myerswilkins-elementary
Piedmont Elementary - www.isd709.org/piedmont-elementary
Stowe Elementary - www.isd709.org/stowe-elementary
Denfeld High School - www.isd709.org/denfeld
Duluth East High School - www.isd709.org/duluth-east
AEO Online High School - www.isd709.org/aeo
Lincoln Park Middle School - www.isd709.org/lincoln-park
Ordean East Middle School - www.isd709.org/ordean-east
Area Learning Center - www.isd709.org/area-learning-center
Residential/Day Treatment - www.isd709.org/residential-day-treatment
Early Childhood - www.isd709.org/for-new-families/birth-to-pre-k

Duluth LIbrary Port Card: All Duluth Public School students will receive access to expanded educational resources through a Port Card Partnership with the Duluth Public Library. Each child's name and school will be shared with the Duluth Public Library.  Private data will not be shared. Families may opt their child out of this program using this formPlease contact your school media specialist/librarian if you have questions.

Minnesota's Immunization Law:  Be sure you've submitted documentation of your child's vaccinations or legal exemption to your school.
 
Weather-Related School Closings & Two Hour Late Start:  All families, especially those with elementary age students, should have a contingency plan for their children in the event of weather-related school closings or a Two Hour Late Start.

Bullying Prohibition Policy & Tips for Parents:  Creating a safe & welcoming environment for all students and staff in our schools, check the Back to School Newsletter and check Safe & Welcoming Schools.

ISD 709 Wellness Policy:  Attendance and academic performance are linked to good nutrition and physical activity.  Making healthy choices during the school day can be helpful in supporting a child’s education.  Learn More

Apply Online to Receive Free or Reduced Price School Meals: www.paypams.com/onlineapp.  Families can apply anywhere, anytime - the process is safe, secure, convenient and available 24/7.  Data is transmitted to your local school district office the same day you apply, allowing for quicker processing. Families qualifying for free/reduced school meals may also qualify for reduced school activity fees.
 
Infinite Campus Parent Portal Notifications:  When a family's information is entered into Infinite Campus Parent Portal, they are automatically set up to receive the following messages:  Emergency, Attendance, Behavior, General Notification, Priority Notification and Teacher.      

Families may log into the Infinite Campus Parent Portal and change these settings (except Emergency which remains permanently selected for all families)    

To ensure you receive information regarding lock downs, evacuations or other situations requiring immediate school response please be sure "General Notification" and "Priority Notification" remain checked for your account.      
The Emergency notification in Infinite Campus is reserved for district-wide messages such as weather related issues and school closings.