School News‎ > ‎

ISD 709 News

posted Jul 15, 2016, 2:15 PM by Communications ISD 709
Denfeld Students Winners in Minnesota ArcGIS Map Contest
   Congratulations to Maria Ossanna and Tess Urrutia, Denfeld High School!  They’re two of five high
school winners in the Minnesota ArcGIS Map Contest, sponsored by the Minnesota GIS/LIS Consortium, MDE, MAGE and Esri.  Several Denfeld students received Honorable Mention for the high quality of their map project, congratulations to  Adrian Ferguson, Kong James Xiong, Sarah Scrignoli and Benjamin Emmel.
   Minnesota public, private, or homeschooled students are eligible to enter the contest. Maps can be submitted individually or as a team of two people.  Students are challenged to create an original Minnesota based map on their topic of interest or concern.  The area mapped can range from the entire state to a smaller area, like a county or city. The five maps judged the best in each division are each awarded a $100 prize.  
From the City of Duluth:
City of Duluth to Host Public Safety Town Hall Meeting on July 19
   Mayor Emily Larson, Duluth’s Public Safety team (Police and Fire) and the Duluth Citizen Review Board (CRB) invite residents to attend a Public Safety Town Hall forum on July 19, 2016 from 6:00PM-7:30 PM at Denfeld High School, 401 N 44th Ave West.  The event is open to the public.
   The forum provides an opportunity to dialogue as community members that care for the well-being of all residents. Attendees will hear from Public Safety officials and the CRB followed by opportunities for the audience to share insight, ask questions, and issue concerns with the goal of helping to strengthen the partnership between the City and its residents. The public will also meet Duluth’s incoming Human Rights Officer, Carl Crawford, who will play an important role in community collaborations when he officially starts at the City later this month.

Denfeld, Duluth East Robotics Teams Prepare for Summer Competition
   Members of the Denfeld DNA and Duluth East Daredevils are preparing for the annual Gitchi Gummi Get Together, a summer robotics competition hosted by the Daredevils, taking place July 29-30 at Lincoln Park Middle School, 3215 . Over a dozen teams from across Minnesota are scheduled to participate.  The event is free and open to the public.  

Duluth Superior Area Community Foundation Announces 2016 Scholarship Recipients
   The Duluth Superior Area Community Foundation (DSACF) Board of Trustees is pleased to announce the 2016 Scholarship recipients. 
    “For almost thirty years, the Community Foundation has supported area students in their efforts to achieve their educational dreams,” said Holly C. Sampson, President. “These young adults are the future leaders of our community and we’re proud to be a partner in their success.”
   Scholarship winners include, but are not limited to:
Hubert A. Nelson Scholarship: Alexis Rajanen, Denfeld HS   
Paul Antonich Scholarship: James Powe, Duluth East HS
Duluth Central Sports Association Legacy Scholarship: Taylor Johnson, Derek Huston, Denfeld HS
William E. Barto Scholarship Fund:  Emma Spooner, Duluth East HS
Bernard B. & Mary L. Brusin Scholarship:  Michael Kelly, Duluth East HS
Gernander Scholarship:  Derek Huston and Gabriella Nordman, Denfeld HS
Duluth Building and Construction Trades Council Scholarship:  Madeline Brown, Duluth East HS
Patricia S. Gustafson '56 Memorial Scholarship:  Karen Boynton, Denfeld HS
Gus & Henrietta Hill Scholarship: Stephanie Curran, Duluth East HS
Greg Irons Award:  Christine LeGarde, Denfeld HS and Michael Kelly, Duluth East HS 
Greg Irons Teacher Award, Karla Winterfeld, Lincoln Park MS  
Cory Jam Memorial Award:  Sanna Berdahl, Duluth East HS   is Sanna Berdahl.
Harold & Laura Jorgenson Memorial Scholarship:  Hannah Carlson, Denfeld HS
The Minnesota Power Community Involvement Scholarship : Jackson Churchill and Alyssa Lauzon, Duluth East HS 
Amelia and Emanuel Nessell Family Scholarships: Alyvia Dobs, Denfeld HS 
Anderson-Niskanen Scholarships: Abigail Vincent, Duluth Public Schools
Steve Rolland Youth Peacemaker Award:  Michael Kelly and Bryce Holak, Duluth East HS
Walter & Anna Soneson Scholarship: Alyvia Dobs, Denfeld HS and Grant Wickman, Duluth East HS
Jack and Mary Rowe Memorial Scholarship:  Joseph Rauzi, Duluth East HS
Kenneth and Concetta Schoen Scholarship:  Pernille Soderlind, Duluth East HS
Robert B. & Sophia Whiteside Scholarships:
Denfeld HS - Dawkin Erceg, Benjamin Fehringer, Derek Huston, Gabriella Nordman, Violet Wennberg
Duluth East HS - Shannon Baker, Jacob Beery, Sanna Berdahl, Sylvia Bowen-Bailey, Daniel Dylla, Kendall Hill, Autumn Kittilson, Grace Lane, Anja Leitz-Najarian, Kayla Nyenhuis, Eleanor Peterson, Marianne Peterson, Jonah Wehr
   The DSACF promotes private giving for the public good. The Foundation is a permanent community endowment, built by gifts from thousands of individuals and organizations. Guided by a 14-member Board of volunteer civic leaders, the Foundation makes grants to nonprofit organizations and to individuals for scholarships and provides leadership on important community initiatives in northeast Minnesota and northwest Wisconsin. Since its inception in 1983, they have distributed over $47 million and currently hold over 370 different funds, each with its own charitable purpose.  Learn more  
Middle School Student Receives Trip to a Twins Game for Perfect Attendance
   Congratulations Bode Hislop, Ordean East!  Organized by the MN Middle School Association, the Perfect Attendance-Perfect Game program rewards students who achieve perfect attendance during the school year. Students receive a certificate and the opportunity to attend a Twins baseball game and receive recognition on the field during a pregame ceremony. 

Duluth East High School Student Receives Extraordinary Impact Award  
   Kaitlyn Lake received the "Know the Truth Extraordinary Impact Award" from the Minnesota Adult & Teen Challenge Know the Truth substance abuse prevention program. The award, presented to two high school and two middle school students in Minnesota, recognizes students who are making positive, healthy choices in their own lives and actively encouraging and advocating for those choices in their school and community. Kaitlyn received the award for advocating for increased mental health services at school.

Run With the ‘Hounds – 5K Run
Lester Park in Duluth  
Wednesday, July 27, 2016 - Race at 6:00PM
Preregistration online by Wednesday, July 20, 2016 
to guarantee a T-shirt , $20 Payment due at race time
Same day registration is $25 from 5 - 5:45 pm at Lester Park
Support Duluth East Cross Country Running